PDF Hacks

PDF Hacks

Convert RSS feeds to printable PDF newspapers


RSS has finally caught on to the point where even my non-geek friends have downloaded readers and subscribed to a few feeds. The thing is, you can’t really hand out RSS feeds at a rally, post them on a bulletin board, or leave them on a table where someone will pick them up and read them. That’s why it’s nice that fivefilters.org has provided a free way to turn your favorite feeds into printable PDF newspapers.

I’m as anti-paper as the next guy – heck, I haven’t owned a printer in years – but I know my mom’s not going to read my blog if I don’t hand it to her in paper form. I could do all the formatting myself, but Five Filters takes care of it automatically. The only major limitation is that it can only draw from one feed URL per PDF, but you can work around that by combining feeds using Yahoo! Pipes or a similar tool. It would be nice to pick and choose individual items from a feed reader to go into each newspaper, but this tool gets the basic job done, and the price is certainly right.

source: http://www.downloadsquad.com/2009/07/13/convert-rss-feeds-to-printable-pdf-newspapers/

September 9, 2009 - Posted by | Hacks, PDF News | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment